Mississippi’s top college football player to be named from among 10 finalists for the 2014 C Spire Conerly Trophy

Fans will

be able to vote by Facebook, Twitter and via text messaging. Just as the media voters do, fans will

vote for a first place, second place and third place winner. C Spire has sponsored

the outstanding player awards program for all major college sports in

Mississippi since 1998.

The 2014 Conerly Trophy finalists include:

JACKSON, Miss.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Ole Miss cornerback Senquez Golson, one of five finalists for the Bronco

Nagurski Award as the nation’s top defensive player, and Mississippi

State quarterback Dak Prescott, a likely Heisman Trophy finalist, lead a

list of 10 nominees for the 2014 C Spire Conerly Trophy, which annually

honors the top college football player in the Magnolia State.

The other eight finalists are quarterbacks John Gibbs Jr.

For more information about C Spire, visit www.cspire.com or

follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cspire

or Twitter at www.twitter.com/cspire.

About C Spire

The C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet is nearing a sellout, but still has

limited seating for the Dec. 2 program at the Mississippi Sports Hall of

Fame and Museum. Fan voting will begin tomorrow (Nov. A 5:30 p.m.

For the second time in the award’s history, fan voting will count for 10

percent of the award and a panel of statewide media will make up the

remaining 90 percent. He has

broken up a team-high seven passes and his interception in the final

seconds sealed Ole Miss’ victory over No. 1 ranked Alabama. He also returned 26

kickoffs for 407 yards.

Bell, a senior from Metairie, La., was a pre-season All-America

candidate for Millsaps. He also broke up six passes, forced a

fumble and recovered a fumble that he returned for 60 yards.

Golson, who would be the first defensive back ever to win the trophy,

and Prescott, who is currently ranked 5th on the Heisman

Trophy watch list, join finalists from eight other schools vying for the

coveted award, which is named after College Football Hall of Famer

Charlie Conerly, who also starred for the New York Giants.

Now in its 19th year, the Conerly Trophy presented by C Spire

is named after the late Charlie Conerly – the only football inductee in

the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame who was an All-American at a

Mississippi university, an NFL rookie of the year and NFL All-Pro member

and quarterbacked a team to a world championship. He completed 164 of 294 passes

for 2,237 yards and ran for 874 yards on 119 carries to help Alcorn

score an average of 44.5 points per game.

Stafford, a senior from Memphis, Tenn., lead Mississippi Valley

State and the SWAC in every receiving category, including receptions

(67), receiving yards (1,037) and touchdowns (9).

His TD to interception ratio is 24-12 and he has seven rushing


McCullum, a senior from Hebron, Miss., leads USM with 4.5 sacks

and four forced fumbles. He has passed for

2,714 yards and 24 touchdowns and run for 891 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Livingston, a senior from Houston, Miss., has averaged 122

receiving yards per game with 117 catches for 1,341 yards and eight

touchdowns for the Blazers.

Klibert, a senior from LaPlace, La., intercepted two passes and

was in on 48 tackles, including seven for lost yardage, for the


Sullivan, a redshirt freshman from Louisville, Miss., has led

Delta State to a 9-1 record and a first-round bye in the NCAA Division

II college football playoffs. For his career with the Golden Eagles, he has

7.5 sacks, 24.5 tackles for loss, seven pass breakups, five fumble

recoveries and two blocked kicks.

Williams, a sophomore from East St.

and conclude on Dec. For ticket availability or more information, call 601.982.8264.

. For

entry rules and qualifications on fan voting, go to www.cspire.com/conerly

beginning tomorrow.

Golson, a junior from Pascagoula, Miss., leads the Southeastern

Conference and ranks second nationally in pass interceptions with

nine. He recorded a team-high 17.5 tackles for loss

and 9.5 sacks in nine games. He has personally accounted for 31

touchdowns in leading one of the nation’s most productive offenses. 25) at 8 a.m. We are excited to give fans

the ability once again to help influence who wins the C Spire Conerly

Trophy,” said Jim Richmond, vice president of Corporate Communications

for C Spire.

Past winners of the C Spire Conerly Trophy have included such prominent

future NFL standouts as Deuce McAllister, Eli Manning, Jerious Norwood,

Michael Boley, Patrick Willis, Anthony Dixon and many others. dinner

program. Golson also has been in on 35 tackles, three for losses. reception will be followed by the 6:30 p.m. The second annual Kent Hull Trophy also will be

presented to the top college offensive lineman in Mississippi at the

event. Coaches and finalists from all the schools are expected to

attend. Louis, Ill., had 63 catches

for 909 yards and eight touchdowns for Jackson State and ranks third

in the SWAC with 82.6 yards per game.

Gibbs, a junior from Houston, Texas, guided Alcorn to a 9-2

record and a SWAC Eastern Division title. He accounted for 29 Braves

touchdowns, 18 passing and 11 rushing. Fans may

submit up to three votes per day during the voting period; however, only

one entry is allowed per day for each of the social media methods. 1 at 8 a.m.

This news release and other announcements are available at www.cspire.com/news. of Alcorn

State and Tyler Sullivan of Delta State; wide receivers Julian Stafford

of Mississippi Valley State, Greg Livingston of Belhaven and Daniel

Williams of Jackson State; defensive back Dylan Klibert of Mississippi

College and defensive ends Zach Bell of Millsaps College and Dasmon

McCullum of Southern Miss.

“Football fans across Mississippi are very passionate about their

schools and the star players in their respective programs, especially

with the success of so many teams this year. He is also

a national semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarick and Jim Thorpe awards,

which honor the nation’s top college defensive player.

Prescott, a junior from Haughton, La., has led the Bulldogs to

three victories over teams that were unbeaten and ranked among the

nation’s Top 10 when they played Mississippi State. Last

year’s winner was Mississippi State offensive lineman Gabe Jackson, now

with the Oakland Raiders.

C Spire is a diversified telecommunications and technology services

company that provides world-class customer-inspired service and a

superior comprehensive suite of customer-inspired wireless

communications, high-speed Internet access and a range of other

telecommunications products and services to consumers and businesses

Leave a Reply